SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books

City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award


The 2018 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award will open for submissions on Friday 2 February 2018.

The Award is proudly sponsored by the City of Fremantle, Fremantle Library, The West Australian and Fremantle Press.

The prize is biennial and is awarded to an unpublished manuscript by an unpublished Western Australian author for a work of adult fiction, narrative non-fiction or young adult fiction. The winner receives a cash prize of $12,000 and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press. The winner will be announced at a special event at Fremantle Arts Centre in November 2018.

Submissions may be made via the Fremantle Press Submittable home page, which will be operational from Friday 2 February until Friday 16 March 2018. More information will be available soon from . To help you start preparing your manuscript in the meantime, you can download the full terms and conditions here.

T.A.G. Hungerford (1915–2011)

T.A.G. Hungerford was widely admired as a quintessential Western Australian writer and identity. He was a major contributor in helping us define our sense of self and place in a rapidly changing world. His first collection of short stories was published in 1976 by Fremantle Press. In 1987 T.A.G. Hungerford was made a member of the Order of Australia. In 2002 he was the recipient of the Patrick White Award and in 2004 he was declared a Western Australian State Living Treasure. He was always a great supporter of new and emerging writers and was proud to have the award named for him. A collector's edition of Stories from Suburban Road will be released in March 2016.

The award is proudly sponsored by

DB_HungerfordWebBanner_JAN2016_hungerford page

2016 winner Jay Martin

Jay Martin is a Fremantle-based writer, social researcher, and ukulele player – one of which pays the bills. At 16, she opted for hitchhiking to north Queensland and backpacking around South-East Asia over finishing high school in Melbourne – a decision she was told would ruin her life that she has never regretted for a second. She lived in the UK, India, Vietnam and Japan before coming to Perth for ‘six months, maybe twelve’ – some 25 years ago. She spent a decade away in Canberra as a government social policy adviser. Someone in the Department of Foreign Affairs staffing section pulled ‘Warsaw’ out of their hat, and Jay was off with her newly minted diplomat husband to Poland – where the best and the worst days of her life followed over the next three years. While there, she worked as a freelance writer for Australian and European publications, volunteered for the Warsaw Uprising Museum, and came to understand snow and vodka – although never pickled herring. While initially having to be convinced to make the move from north of the river, she is now firmly ensconced in Fremantle with her husband and a Polish cat called Very. Her book Vodka and Apple Juice will be published in 2018.

Past recipients of the award are Madelaine Dickie, Brenda Walker, Gail Jones, Natasha Lester, Jacqueline Wright, Robert Edeson, Nathan Hobby, Bruce Russell, Christopher Murray, Donna Mazza, Simone Lazaroo and Alice Nelson.