SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books

Old Scores

Written by David Whish-Wilson


Buy the Ebook

It’s the early 1980s: the heady days of excess, dirty secrets and personal favours. Former detective Frank Swann is still in disgrace, working as a low-rent PI. But when he’s offered a security job by the premier’s fixer, it soon becomes clear that someone is bugging the premier’s phone – and it may cost Swann more than his job to find out why.

'In the Frank Swann series, David Whish-Wilson has done for Perth what Peter Temple did for Melbourne with Jack Irish.' Westerly Magazine

'Old Scores is a must read for fans of Australian crime fiction and/or crime fiction in general.' Just A Guy That Likes To Read

'As the plot unfolds, Whish-Wilson’s text pulses from the pages at an escalating rate, building tension and suspense as the story hurtles towards its surprising resolution.' Farm Weekly

'[Perth] is indeed one of the key characters in the novel, a remote wild-west mirage with more money than sense …' Australian Book Review

'Whish-Wilson has again delivered a fast-paced, entertaining and smarter than average crime novel.' The Weekend Australian

ISBN 9781925164107 (Paperback)
Formats C Format (234 x 153mm) (Paperback)
Categories Book Club Reads
Crime & Mystery
Father's Day 2021
Publisher Fremantle Press
Edition 1st
Publication Year 2016
Pages 236
Rights World
  • David whish wilson website

    David Whish-Wilson

    David Whish-Wilson is the author of seven novels and three creative non-fiction books. He was born in Newcastle, New South Wales, but raised in Singapore, Victoria and Western Australia. He left Australia aged 18 to live for a decade in Europe, Africa and Asia, where he worked as a barman, actor, street seller, petty criminal, labourer, exterminator, factory worker, gardener, clerk, travel agent, teacher and drug trial guinea pig. David’s first novel in the Frank Swann crime series, Line of Sight (Penguin Australia), was shortlisted for a Ned Kelly Award in 2012. He has since written three more in the series: Zero at the Bone, Old Scores and Shore Leave. The first three books in the series have also been published in Germany by Suhrkamp Verlag. David wrote the Perth book in the NewSouth Books city series, which was shortlisted for a WA Premier's Book Award. He currently lives in Fremantle, Western Australia, with his partner and three children, where he teaches creative writing at Curtin University. Read more