SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books

The 2019 Fogarty Literary Award Terms and Conditions

1. The Award is made for an original unpublished work of fiction, young adult fiction or narrative nonfiction by a Western Australian author aged between 18 and 35 on 25 March 2019.
2.The Award is open to authors whose normal place of residence is Western Australia. If requested, proof of eligibility is the responsibility of the entrant. Where necessary, final arbitration will be at the sole discretion of the judges.
3. Manuscripts by previously published authors may be submitted.
4. Multiple manuscripts may be submitted.
5. Manuscripts of joint authorship may be submitted (with the prize money to be split between joint authors).
6. Manuscripts that have been previously self-published may be submitted, but details of publication and sales history are required at the time of submission.
7. Manuscripts should be at least 50,000 words but no more than 120,000 words
8. Manuscripts must be in English.
9. Manuscripts entered for other awards or under consideration elsewhere may not be submitted.
10. Manuscripts must be submitted by the author. Manuscripts submitted by or represented by agents will not be accepted.
11. Manuscripts will only be accepted in electronic form via Submittable as a Word document or PDF.
12. There is no entry fee.
13. In entering the Award, the author warrants that:

i. the manuscript is an original work
ii. the manuscript in no way whatever infringes any existing copyright or licence or any other right of any person
iii. the manuscript contains no defamatory matter, or any matter which invades any individual’s rights of privacy
iv. all statements in the manuscript purporting to be facts are true
v. the author will offer Fremantle Press first option to publish the manuscript
vi. entries are submitted unencumbered/unrestricted, with full rights available to the publisher
vii. the author’s name, biography and image can be used in marketing and publicity materials associated with the Award, and the author will participate in media interviews, speaking engagements and publicity as required.

14. The judging panel will be comprised of Fremantle Press publishers.
15. The judges reserve the right to exclude from consideration any entry that does not comply with Award conditions.
16. The judges will not be required to make an award if they do not consider the entries to be of sufficient standard.
17. The decision of the judges is final and no correspondence will be entered into concerning their decisions.
18. Lobbying of the judges by an author will result in the author’s disqualification.
19. The winner of the 2019 Award will be announced in May 2019.
20. The winning entry will be published by Fremantle Press under the terms of a publishing agreement in line with industry norms.

A narrative non-fiction text has non-fiction as its foundation, but is written with attention to literary style, deploying the techniques of fiction, such as dialogue, scene setting and characterisation. Some examples of narrative non-fiction (also called creative non-fiction) include Helen Garner’s This House of Grief, Chloe Hooper’s The Tall Man, Robert Drewe’s The Shark Net, John Berendt’s Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood.

Please direct all other enquiries to or 9430 6331.