SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books


Shore Leave

Written by David Whish-Wilson


Buy the Ebook

It is Fremantle in 1989 and Frank Swann is at home, suffering from an undiagnosed and debilitating illness. When Frank is called in to investigate an incident at a local brothel, it soon appears there is a link between the death of two women and the arrival of the US nuclear-powered aircraft carrier Carl Vinson in the port city. Shore Leave is the fourth book in the Frank Swann series and also features Lee Southern, the main character from True West.


‘A gritty and insightful story of greed, family and revenge. Shore Leave once again proves that David Whish-Wilson is a master of hard-boiled crime.’ Emma Viskic

'Murder and mayhem, Navy and Nazis, bullion and bikers: Whish-Wilson has delivered a shearer’s breakfast of crime, cooked to perfection on the hot bonnet that is Perth 1989.  And cruising through it all the incomparable detective, Frank Swann. Along with sunscreen and sunnies, Shore Leave is a summer essential for the lazy thrillseeker.' Dave Warner

'David Whish-Wilson is one of the best purveyors of gritty, credible, hardboiled Australian crime fiction.' Canberra Weekly

'Bikies, murder, revenge, navy boys and a hot Western Australian summer all make Shore Leave a great read.' The AU Review

'A gritty, fast-paced ride through late-80s Perth, complete with bikies, corrupt cops and neo-nazis.' The West Australia

'Three new Australian novels about crime families, gangs and institutionalised corruption are informative as well as entertaining.'
The Australian

ISBN 9781925815986 (Paperback)
Formats C Format (234 x 153mm) (Paperback)
Categories Father's Day 2021
New Releases
Crime & Mystery
Publisher Fremantle Press
Edition 1st
Publication Year 2020
Pages 248
  • David whish wilson website

    David Whish-Wilson

    David Whish-Wilson is the author of seven novels and three creative non-fiction books. He was born in Newcastle, New South Wales, but raised in Singapore, Victoria and Western Australia. He left Australia aged 18 to live for a decade in Europe, Africa and Asia, where he worked as a barman, actor, street seller, petty criminal, labourer, exterminator, factory worker, gardener, clerk, travel agent, teacher and drug trial guinea pig. David’s first novel in the Frank Swann crime series, Line of Sight (Penguin Australia), was shortlisted for a Ned Kelly Award in 2012. He has since written three more in the series: Zero at the Bone, Old Scores and Shore Leave. The first three books in the series have also been published in Germany by Suhrkamp Verlag. David wrote the Perth book in the NewSouth Books city series, which was shortlisted for a WA Premier's Book Award. He currently lives in Fremantle, Western Australia, with his partner and three children, where he teaches creative writing at Curtin University. Read more