SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books

The Fogarty Literary Award

Want to read the latest news?

Subscribe to enews

Fogarty Literary Award winner says her manuscript was 12 years in the making and completed just before giving birth to her first child

Como resident Rebecca Higgie won the inaugural Fogarty Literary Award for her manuscript The History of Mischief at a special ceremony at the ECU Spiegeltent on Wednesday 22 May 2019. Chosen from a field of 64 manuscripts by Western Australian writers aged 18 to 35, Higgie won a $20,000 cash prize from the Fogarty Foundation and secured a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

Read more

2019 Fogarty Literary Award shortlist: Michael Burrows

Michael Burrows is an author and poet from Perth. Here, he reads from his first novel, Where the Line Breaks, and talks about how it was inspired by an Anzac Day experience in Gallipoli, the search for Australian war poetry and his love for Western Australia.

Read more

2019 Fogarty Literary Award longlist: Joshua Kemp

Joshua Kemp is longlisted for the Fogarty Literary Award for his novel In the Shadow of Burringurrah, an Australian gothic story. Here, he talks about what inspired him to write it, male and female relationships, and why novel writing is his true love.

Read more