SHOP NOW: free delivery anywhere in Australia for two or more books


Want to read the latest news?

Subscribe to enews

Holden Sheppard stays on a roll as his debut YA novel Invisible Boys makes the shortlist for a fourth major prize

Geraldton-born Western Australian writer Holden Sheppard is one of three writers shortlisted for the Prize for Writing for Young Adults in the 2020 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. Holden is in the running to receive a $25,000 prize, as well as the overall Victorian Prize for Literature worth an additional $100,000, the single most valuable literary award in the country.

Read more

Fremantle Press Champion of Literature and education philanthropist Annie Fogarty is the proud recipient of the 2020 WA Australian of the Year Award

Our very own Champion of Literature and the force behind the Fogarty Literary Award, Annie Fogarty, has been named the 2020 WA Australian of the Year for her work through the Fogarty Foundation. Every year, the Australian of the Year Awards celebrate the achievements and contributions of eminent Australians who are positive role models in our community.

Read more

The Regional Arts Fund is set to help writer Madelaine Dickie tackle a new book on Kimberley Traditional Owner Wayne Bergmann

Novelist and City of Fremantle Hungerford Award winner Madelaine Dickie will try her hand at a new genre next year. The Australian Government’s Regional Arts Fund grant will enable the Exmouth resident to commence the research and development of a unique biography about Wayne Bergmann, a Nyikina man, former finalist in the Western Australian of the Year Awards and former CEO of the Kimberley Land Council.

Read more

New judges announced for the 30-year anniversary of the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award

Almost three decades ago, Brenda Walker was an aspiring writer who became the very first winner of the City of Fremantle Hungerford Award. Now this multi-award-winning writer and Emeritus Professor, who has recently been chair of the judging panel for the Stella Prize, is a member of the judging panel for the Award’s thirtieth anniversary year. Also new is Sisonke Msimang, South African writer and oral storyteller, while Richard Rossiter – writer, editor and seasoned judge of the Hungerford Award – and our own Fremantle Press publisher, Georgia Richter, will return for another round.

Read more