T A G Hungerford Award

2012 winner Robert Edeson

The 2014 City of Fremantle T.A.G. Hungerford Award is administered by writingWA. The prize is awarded to an unpublished manuscript by a previously unpublished Western Australian author. Winners receive a cash prize of $12,000 and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press. Submissions for the 2014 award open on Tuesday 25 March and close on Monday 30 June 2014. Please do not contact Fremantle Press regarding this award. For all queries and entry forms please go to the writingWA website

T.A.G. Hungerford Award 2012

It’s been a big year for the T.A.G. Hungerford Award. The field of 48 manuscripts was of such an exceptionally high standard that the judges increased the size of the shortlist from three to six – two of which were subsequently contracted by Fremantle Press. Meanwhile, Jacqueline Wright did the award proud when her Hungerford winning novel Red Dirt Talking was longlisted for the Miles Franklin and the Dobbie.

And the winner is …
Subiaco resident Robert Edeson is the latest author to join the elite group of Hungerford winners, taking out the 2012 award with his unpublished manuscript The Weaver Fish.

Mr Edeson said being the 11th winner of the award was an amazing transition because he was just about to go on long service leave from his day job as an anaesthetist.

‘What a wonderful way to start,’ he said. ‘I just can’t believe it.’

Mr Edeson received a $12,000 cash prize donated by the Friends and Family of the late Bill Warnock, and a publishing contract with Fremantle Press.

Shortlisted entrant Martin Chambers also caught the attention of Fremantle Press publisher Georgia Richter and was offered a contract for his crime thriller How I became the Mr Big of People Smuggling.

Mr Chambers said it was a fantastic breakthrough to get his first contract and he was excited to be working with the publishers at Fremantle Press.

‘I am really looking forward to getting some feedback from the publishers and turning it into a polished piece,’ he said.

The 2010 T.A.G. Hungerford Award winner Jacqueline Wright was longlisted for the 2012 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the 2013 Dobbie Literary Award within the space of two weeks.

Ms Wright said she was ‘gobsmacked’ by the news and was so humbled to be considered in the same league as previous winners of these awards.

‘You always dream about getting this kind of response and you entertain the tiny little wish in the pit of your stomach, hoping it will come true, but it is always such a shock when it happens,’ she said.

The T.A.G. Hungerford Award is presented biennially to a Western Australian writer who has not previously been published in book form.

The 2012 judging panel included writingWA Chair, Associate Professor Delys Bird; leading West Australian writers Susan Midalia and Richard Rossiter; and Adult Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction Publisher at Fremantle Press, Georgia Richter.

The 2012 T.A.G. Hungerford Award was presented with the support of the Friends and Family of the late Bill Warnock, in partnership with writingWA, Fremantle Press and The West Australian newspaper.

Sister Heart launch to raise money for ILF

More information »