Authors » Kim Scott

Kim Scott

Kim Scott was born in 1957 and grew up on the south coast of Western Australia. He began writing for publication when he became a teacher of English and his first novel, True Country, was published in 1993 by Fremantle Press. His novel Benang: from the Heart won the 2000 Miles Franklin Award. In 2011 Scott won a second Miles Franklin Award for That Deadman Dance. He has had poetry and short stories published in a number of anthologies and now lives near Fremantle with his wife.


Western Australian of the Year, 2012
Indigenous Award, Western Australian of the Year, 2012
Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2011
Commonwealth Writers Prize (South-east Asia and Pacific), 2011
Victorian Prize for Literature, 2011
Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards: the Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction 2011
The ALS Gold Medal, 2011
Kate Challis RAKA Award, 2011
Indie Book Award (shortlisted), 2011
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature (2012): Premiers Award
Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature (2012): Fiction
Braille Book of the Year
Western Australian Premiers Book Award 2010: Premiers Prize
Western Australian Premiers Book Award 2010: Fiction Prize
Matilda Award for Cultural Excellence 2007 (UWA Convocation)
Centenary Medal 2003
Western Australian Premier’s Book Award, 2000
Miles Franklin Literary Award, 2000
Queensland Premier’s Award (shortlisted), 2000
Dublin Impac Literary Award (long listed), 2000
Tasmania Pacific Literary Award (shortlisted), 2001
Kate Challis Award, 2001

Books available from Fremantle Press

Other Books by this Author

That Deadman Dance (Picador)
Mamang (UWAP)

From the Catalogue

Crocodile Cake

by Palo Morgan with illustrations by Chris Nixon

Meet Robert Drewe

Where to catch up with Robert Drewe this month.

more »